Is this realistic??? Advice, please.

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

mackinho's

Medium number of hours, some turbine time, no turbine pic, 121 experience (furloughed). Currently working at a good paying non-flying job. Married, two kids.

I've got contacts at the two big-name jet training facilities here in Dallas to do right seat sim stuff. Which, I understand can lead to good corporate jobs.

If I do that, can I find a decent-paying job flying corporate here in Dallas?

I have turned down interviews at ASA and Pinnacle. I can't afford (money and time away from home) to fly for regional airlines.

I'm a good pilot, look good on paper and reasonably easy to get along with. I'm sitting on the fence about flying for a living. Any advice for me?

mackinho's said:

I'm a good pilot, look good on paper and reasonably easy to get along with. I'm sitting on the fence about flying for a living. Any advice for me?

Anybody with stick time in a X-15 is a bada$$ in my book.
:D :rolleyes:

It's all time building stuff. C-150's, apache's for the twin time. The Air Force big wigs let me fly all I wanted, no questions asked, so I bored holes in the sky. Then when it came time to slide into a hot ride, my stick skills were razor sharp. I turned down that Mercury 7 stuff, though. I need to work on my logbook, that 85k number was from a couple of years ago.

Anyone have any advice on my original post?

Last edited:
Mackinhos:

You should update your sidebar there guy. You got everything but the 3 Shuttle landings.

But really, the answer to your question is "yes it is possible". If you can keep the day job, so much the better. As a sim F/O you will meet everybody in the corporate world and they will meet you as well.

Empenage.

Imagine.....