Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

BoDEAN

Cabo Wabo Express
I was talking to my father the other night, and he asked me "Why don't you join the military, or the reserves?" I told him I never really thought about it. I guess I am not up for a long comitment and don't want to be stationed overseas. He told me since I have a BS degree in Aviation Science, 400 total hours, Commercial/Instrument rated ASEL/AMEL, that I would be a prime candidate for getting into the military and buidling hours.

Has anyone gone this route, when being in similar shoes as myself?

:confused:

"I guess I am not up for a long comitment and don't want to be stationed overseas"

If you WANT to be a military pilot, then the commitment shouldn't play much of a factor. If you WANT to be a UAL pilot who get's his/her experience from the military, then perhaps it is. I joined the military in 1992, and at the time I was planning on "doing my time" and getting out. Here I am, 10 (almost 11) years later.

I'm wondering why you wouldn't want to be stationed overseas? Are you married? That would really be the only reason that I could understand. I lived in Germany as a kid, and went back to Italy for a 3 week TDY. Currently, an accompanied overseas tour is on the top of my assignment preference sheet. Living and working in another country is a challenge in the respect that you must overcome and get used to living a different way, and you'll definitely get homesick for a good old American cheeseburger, but the benefits you get from seeing things from a different viewpoint, and all the experiences you'll have are enormous, and very much worth it.