I think I want out!

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

erjguy

I did my flight training, I starved as a fight instructor, I starved as a first officer.... and I got furloughed. Now I am back starving as a flight instructor. Has anyone made the move out of the industry? I will probably still instruct when I have time, now I just need to find a good ole 9-5. Has anyone else made the leap? What kind of things were you qualified for and how do you enjoy things now? I have a college degree, unfortunately it's related to aviation. But hell, if you can get a decent job with a history or Latin degree, it has to be possible for me too. Any ideas, suggestions, remarks? I am a big boy I can take it.

erjguy said:
I did my flight training, I starved as a fight instructor, I starved as a first officer.... and I got furloughed. Now I am back starving as a flight instructor. Has anyone made the move out of the industry? I will probably still instruct when I have time, now I just need to find a good ole 9-5. Has anyone else made the leap? What kind of things were you qualified for and how do you enjoy things now? I have a college degree, unfortunately it's related to aviation. But hell, if you can get a decent job with a history or Latin degree, it has to be possible for me too. Any ideas, suggestions, remarks? I am a big boy I can take it.

Go fractional - try Avantair (P180s) for some fun flying. The money isn't bad either (check airlinepilotcentral.com). You need some variety and some fun flying again...

mamba20 said:
30k a year to start isnt bad? How do you figure?

I hear they have roughly a one-year upgrade - Captain pay is better. Just a suggestion. I see those guys all the time at TEB and VNY - they seem happy for the most part despite some growing pains... Check out Avantair...