How to start a one man bussiness

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

Rusty

I am a part 135 pilot that also moonlights as a contract pilot and flight instructor. Is there anyone out there that has started a small aviation bussiness and made it worth the effort? I am only worried that if I don't protect myself under a bussiness, and something happens, the lawyers will eat my family alive.

I have looked into the AOPA insurance and leagal protection as well as some other insurance companies. What is a cheap way to get a bussiness set up with minimal tax claims because all the work would be pilot service and non-taxable.

Thanks,
I don't know what I want to do when I grow up.

What kind of business? One man/one plane charter? Flight instruction? Outside of aviation?

Step 1: Do your homework - business plan.

Without that, you won't get anywhere...insurance is important, but without a plan you wont have a business to cover with insurance.

Good luck!

-mini

The bussiness would not be a money making bussiness it would be a aviation bussiness! I have a primary job as a 135 pilot and am happy with that job for now. I would only do the bussiness thing to make my contract side gigs and flight instruction legal on paper. Does that make sense? Do I even need a formal company if I don't make that much $ on the side?

Just make yourself an LLC. Call it whatever you want and do all your business as "Flying Widget, LLC."

Actually...Dibbs on that name.