getting a job with a violation

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

mjport

I am a low-time pilot and may be faced with a violation by the FAA. Is my career dead at this early stage, if found in violation, or do I have time to bounce back and prove myself?

It's not over!
You have time to bounce back and prove yourself. You must take responsibility for your error, learn from it, and be able to speak at length about it in a mature and undefensive manner. As long as it's an isolated event you'll be fine.

The fact is that all pilots make mistakes, especially when they're low time. Most of us don't get caught and/or ATC decides not to pursue an action against us. It doesn't make you a bad pilot and in the future you'll be explaining to interviewers how much of a better pilot the violation made you.

I know I'm not answering your question, but I have to jump on my soapbox for a second.......

File a NASA form IMMEDIATELY! If whatever you did was inadvertant and happened less than 10 days ago, the NASA form will go a long way to helping you out.

First of all, it keeps you from having to suffer the punishment. For example, if the FAA decides to suspend your license for, say, 30 days and you have filed the ASRS form, you will not have to serve the suspension. It will be on your record for 5 years, but you won't lose your privledges for any period of time.