• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

dabandermac

fratdaddy
Ok, here is my situation....

I'm a student pilot with 50 hours....have all the ppl reqs filled minus the checkride prep. Problem is I took a hiatus from training for the semester due to a high course load, teaching, and research (i'm a biochem student).

I have done all my training in KTLH (class C), but will be home in south florida over winter break & want to finish my training at KLNA, a smaller, uncontrolled airport in busy palm beach county.

My question's are: how much trouble will I have adjusting to the south florida traffic at an uncontrolled airport? Is this even feasible? Will I just be wasting a ton of money becoming familiar with the area? Should I just wait until I get back to Tallahassee?

I would really like to finish training over Christmas break while I'm not busy, but don't know how much work it will be. Any responses are appreciated.

CV

shouldn't be hard to adjust at all. if you're up doing dual, you'll let the instructor handle the radios first and just learn from them. you should also only need a few hours of dual to show you are proficient. i wouldn't let them nickel and dime you.

bring your butt up to daytona. we'll have you in and out, lickety split.

dabandermac said:

I'm a student pilot with 50 hours....have all the ppl reqs filled minus the checkride prep. Problem is I took a hiatus from training for the semester due to a high course load, teaching, and research (i'm a biochem student).

I have done all my training in KTLH (class C), but will be home in south florida over winter break & want to finish my training at KLNA, a smaller, uncontrolled airport in busy palm beach county.