• Invite everyone to Flightinfo.com and let's have fun

Filing IFR to no WX/no app. airport

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web
I know 135 and 121 now have an Op Spec A057 For "Eligible On-Demand Operations". I believe it allows you to go take a peak at an airport that has no weather reporting, can shoot appraoch if you have a current altimeter setting. I could be wrong but I believe that is the basic jist of it, Later.

Avbug and All,

Thanks for the many comments to my post. I am new to this company and hadn't gone over the OpsSpecs with a fine tooth comb until now. So after researching this a little further, I have come up with this conclusion.

Nowhere in our OpsSpecs does it allow this type of specific operation. It does however allow us to fly VFR. So the natural answer would be to file and fly IFR to an airport nearby that has WX reporting and IAPs, then cancel and proceed VFR.

The one strange thing I found while researching this though is listed in 8400.10 Vol. 3 Chapter 6 Sect. 5 para. 1257(A).
It states "It is impractical for a PIC to conduct a flight to a non-controlled field by cancelling IFR at the last radio navigation fix and then proceeding under VFR to destination on a VFR flightplan. ATC does not accept composite IFR/VFR flightplans. Normally, ATC will not activate a VFR flight on an air traffic control frequency. A PIC who cancels IFR and then changes to a flight-watch frequency to activate a VFR flightplan is not in compliance with FAR 135.79."

Again, thanks for all the comments.

So the natural answer would be to file and fly IFR to an airport nearby that has WX reporting and IAPs, then cancel and proceed VFR.