FAA Air Carrier Inspector Hiring

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

n5374f

Okay, let's really stir things up, Does anybody know what is going on with all the openings at the FAA for Air Carrier and General Aviation Inspectors. Any body out there have any comments of what it is like working for the FAA. Pay, Benefits, etc...

Whew, I'm all stirred up over this one! Its a gov't job. If you like that kind of work, and want to be on the other side of the fence then go for it.

There have been openings there for a long time. I have been applying and talking with them for 5 years now. I think that my problem(I hope anyway) is, I am only requesting South Florida, and that area is very hard to get hired into. On the positive side, my application was finally forwarded to 3 different FSDOs in the last 2 months. But that was only after I expanded the base requirement.

AK

I applied back in 2003 for the Air Carrier Ops job. I had all the quals (or at least I thought I did) but kept getting a preformatted "Your application did not show evidence that you meet... yadda yadda yadda". I talked with some folks in the profession, polished up my application, resubmit and got the same response. Gave up after 3 tries.

Filling out those Federal job apps is a real pain in the keyster. You spend hours working on it all the while knowing you are not gonna get the job. I can't believe that some of the federal employees I have dealt with were able to successfully make it through the hiring process.

Also, for a lot of those fed/state jobs, they already know who they want to hire, but they are required by law to post the position to the public.

Ma! How bout that Meatloaf!!!

Last edited: