Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

Minimaniac

Benevolent Dictator
Hello to everyone on the other end of that radio! I am a regional pilot who is considering what other jobs are out there (heard that one a lot lately, I am sure). A buddy of mine works in Jax center, but I can' t reach him on the phone now so I will ask you all a few questions while they are fresh in my mind. Some may be incredibly obvious, but I am very much in the dark about the controller profession.

- Where is Indy Center...as in I live in Indianapolis, and I was wondering IF I were to get hired as a controller, would I be able to work Indy Center without moving?

- Does anyone from Indy Center know if you are in need of staffing?

- Does being a center controller require any specific qualifications that tower control positions do not?

- Could I get hired? I am 28, with a four year degree, and have been flying for the airlines for 5 years now.

- Where does the pay scale begin under the new contract, and what can a controller expect to make once the training is complete?

Thank you in advance for your helpful responses.

Hello to everyone on the other end of that radio! I am a regional pilot who is considering what other jobs are out there (heard that one a lot lately, I am sure). A buddy of mine works in Jax center, but I can' t reach him on the phone now so I will ask you all a few questions while they are fresh in my mind. Some may be incredibly obvious, but I am very much in the dark about the controller profession.

- Where is Indy Center...as in I live in Indianapolis, and I was wondering IF I were to get hired as a controller, would I be able to work Indy Center without moving? Can't address the Indi questions. Sorry.