DX Career Question

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

sky4aviator

I'm looking for some insight, opinions, etc. from those already in the DX profession. I'm currently in the corporate world...have been for 24 years. I've been successful here (6 fig salary) but to put it bluntly, I'm ready for a career change...before I'm too old to make one successfully. I'm a private pilot and have enjoyed flying/aviation for the past 10+ years. Here's my situation...I'm considering walking away from the corporate world, spending the 6 weeks and $$ to get my DX license, and starting a new career as a dispatcher. I feel like I've missed my window to be a career pilot and I don't have the mins anyway. I could handle the HUGE pay cut in the new profession for a while...but not indefinitely. I live in the DFW area and would have my sights set on Eagle and then hopefully a step up to AA after 5 years (?) or so. Any opinions, comments, suggestions, etc. from those of you in the profession?

GO FOR IT!!

however-

Eagle pays crap, and AA won't be hiring for quite a while- they still dispatchers on furlough.

You could always find a cush job dispatching for a corporate operator, there are lots of bizjets in the DFW area.

Generally 25K up to 50K in 10 years if your with the right regional... LCC's like Airtran will get you to the lower $70's by the 15th year...

Dont go into Dispatch if you EVER expect to get back to "6-Figures" there are very few that make that anywhere... Do it because you will be happy dispatching.....good luck