Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

Simon Says

New Airbus Regional Jet
Anybody do the Utah Valley University online degree here? If so, how did it work out getting a 4 year?

Pros and cons??

Anybody have any other suggestions of schools to get an acreddited degree online.

I have been doing it through UVU since 2005. I am in my last 3 classes. I would have finished in 4 years but I took a 2 semesters off (1) to focus on upgrade, (2) to focus on the birth of my child. I started with about 15 transfer credits from a community college. They also gave me about 30 credits for my ratings.

If I was to do it all over again, I would get ALL of my basics (science, math, history, english) at a community college, and then transfer. For 2 reasons: Online math is tough, and it makes financial sense ($150 a class at community college, it is about $500 a class at UVU) I paid as I went, with no loans, and will graduate in DEC. Everyone is different, do what you can.

The basic classes online were frustrating (to me), and I wanted to quit everyday, BUT once you get past the basic classes, the Aviation classes are EASY and fun.

Some people will tell you "an aviation degree is worthless, get something to fall back on." I dunno, I still have mixed feelings, but UVU offers other degrees as well, not just aviation related. I am getting it in aviation administration because I want to be in some form of management.

In this environment, YOU WILL NEED A DEGREE to make it to the majors. (except jetblue and southwest). It is a must, there is now way around it, unless you have naked pictures of the CEO with a goat.

I got on a low class regional to build my seniority, and PIC, and now I must finish my degree because it has always been a goal of mine to graduate.