Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

Liufeng

Hello all,

This is my first post so I'll introduce myself. My name is Tom, I'm a pilot for [Censorsed] in Bethel Alaska flying the Caravan. I've been flying for this company incedent free for 1 and a half years in Western Alaska. I started flying the C-207 and was upgraded to the Caravan 6 months ago. I have over 500 hours of Caravan time.

Here is my question: Two nights ago my plane was blown into another on the ramp by 30 knots of wind on an icy ramp. The result was damage to the rudder on my plane, and wingtip/aileron and aileron trim on the other plane. Total cost of parts alone is over $20,000. They have already repaired one plane and the other is waiting for a new rudder. My DO wants me to personally pay 10% of the bill since he believes that I am responsible for the damage as my plane wasn't tied down. I concure that it should have been tied down or hangered, however there was not a tie down spot available and MX failed to pull it into the hanger. The incident occured at 4:30am when I was home asleep... so I wasn't on duty, however night MX was on duty and I believe they should have been in custody of the airplane. Our duty days are from 800am to 1000pm everyday.

Anyway, so what do you think of the above story and the punishment by the DO? I am not fired but I was given extras days off without pay since obviously there is no airplane for me to fly anyway.

Thanks for your thoughts.

What are they going to do with the insurance money?

I wouldn't pay.

Now would probably a good time to get some legal advice. Perhaps from AOPA legal if you are a member.