Cut & Paste Resume(s)

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

datafox

I've been filing online resumes with JetBlue and UPS for sometime now. On both airlines web pages, there is a place where the job seeker can cut and paste his resume.

My resume looks great on Microsoft Word, however when I cut and paste it to either the JetBlue or UPS web site it looks awful (columns and lines are not where they should be, etc.).

Does anyone know what UPS or JetBlue see when they look at my online resume? Do I need to reformat the resume before 'cut & paste'?

I was wondering that, too. Wish I had the 1000 hrs. PIC turbine for Jet Blue, but I'm working on it! You must have upgraded quick somewhere, with only 2200TT! Good luck with JB and UPS!

I review resumes for a living right now. So here's my take. I'm sure when they view your resume, they get the crappy cut and paste one. Since this is the format they ask you to submit it in, it probably does not lose you any points. I can also say that as someone who does this all day long, people spend way too much time worrying about what their resume looks like. The MOST important things on a resume are:

1.) The information that the reviewer wants should be very easy to find and read.
2.) Pretty much all other information should be omitted.

When your resume reformats itself, it may detract from the 1st criterion. To this end, instead of cutting and pasting, I would re-type the whole thing keeping in mind this first point. Also, since the topic of resumes came up, I'll give a couple of other tips.

-NEVER type paragraphs. Nobody reads them, and a reviewer is more likely to miss information that you wanted them to see becuase he will be skimming the paragraphs instead of reading them. Bullet points are much better.