Cost of tuition to have a career as a pilot question

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

bernie19

Hello, My name is Eric and I'm new to the board. I am a 31 year old engineer and I want to change career paths in life. I am very interested in becoming a pilot. I have taken an introductory flight and I loved it. I have been looking into flight schools in the Cleveland that take financial aid. I am filling out the Sallie Mae loan papers and I need to know how much of a loan I need to take out. My wife's friend is a pilot and flies a cargo plan and he says it cost him about $19000 to $20000 to get to where he is. But when I spoke to someone at www.pilotcareer.org they said I need to take out around $60000 to work for an airline. Why so much of a difference? As of right now I don't care if I fly for an airline, charter, or flight instructor. I would just like to have a career as a pilot. Does anyone know how much I will need to get a job as a pilot (it doesn't have to be with a major airline)? Thank you for any info.