• Invite everyone to Flightinfo.com and let's have fun

C-130's Vs. KC-135's

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web
As a ANG pilot my whole career I can give you some good advice.

TAKE THE FIRST PILOT SLOT YOU GET. IT DOESN'T MATTER WHAT YOU FLY IN THE GUARD, JUST A LONG AS YOU FLY.

DON'T PASS UP A TANKER FOR A HERC OR A HERC FOR A FIGHTER. I'D RATHER FLY A HERC OR A TANKER THAN BE SITTING ON THE SIDELINE ONLY WISHING I HAD TAKEN A SLOT.

Just my two cents.

Good Luck

CLAMBAKE

Ok...I have to jump in an add my kudo's for the mighty Herk. In fact,flew a NVG low level to an actual (air drop) last night and itwas a beautiful night to fly. The illumination was a bit high but inthe back of the airplane...it is always dark! She is a wonderfulairplane with a wonderful mission. Best in the inventory.

Fotes, I thought that Herk story was from a Marine? And Baghdad onNVG's? When was that? And I assume landing on the northern most runway?If my memory serves me, it was later in the war when the runway'sstarting being used. We were using the taxiway/ramp on south side of15R/33L and did it in overt lighting. And we never did random shallowsinto Baghdad (J262), although maybe we should have sometimes. I thinkthis story is a bit dressed up....but that is my opinion.