Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

SammyG

I hope its big enough
So among the many things that I'm considering doing with my life, becoming an Air Traffic Controller has grabbed my curiosity.

I have a 4 year degree. So what other pre-reqs would I require?

And how about quality of life and pay? Since these two issues have presented two big strikes against my considering becoming an airline pilot, how are these two issues with regard to becoming/being ATC?

Thanks in advance.

Well, the ATC career is a good career but it's not just something you decide to do and then do it.

The FAA has projected that there are going to be thousands of controllers retiring in the next 10 years and they need to replace them. As of now, the academy is not producing anyone. This contract FSS stuff has really slowed stuff down for us already in the ATC world. No moving going on whatsoever. The FSS people who want to be controllers are being offered anything and everything practically not giving us people who have done it the right way and certified everywhere we've been to move up. Its a wierd system. For example, a few years ago a controller goes to a center and washes out, they then move on to a level 7,8,or 9 tower, washout, move to a 5 certifiy, keep the level 11 or 12 pay from the center and work the smaller facilities. Then you take people whom the FAA throw in small facilties as a starting point, certify, make 3/4 what the was out makes and in most cases has a better control of traffic and produces a much safer enviornment for pilots. I think its a messed up system and it has fianlly changed. You get hired and washed now your gonna get the boot which is the way it should be.