• Invite everyone to Flightinfo.com and let's have fun

Aspiring Pilot

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web
Hello! My name is Andy. I am an aspiring pilot in Arizona looking to make a career change. I have recently applied to both American Airlines and Southwest's cadet programs and I am open to looking into private pilot training schools as well. I am really just looking to speak to any current or former American and Southwest pilots or other employees or pilots from other airlines who can give me any guidance, tips, insight, pros, cons, challenges of the job, perks of the job, etc. I would take any knowledge or wisdom that I could learn from you if you are willing. Thank you so much :) you can contact me on here or my email is [email protected] if you'd like to reach out.

Best,

Andy

Forget the cadet program. Use the money on a college degree outside of aviation and get your ratings part 61. Far better use of the funds.

Andy- Try posting on Airline Pilot Central within the Southwest and American threads. You’ll be able to get more professional opinions, advice, etc. This forum has too many trolls and negative Nancy’s.

Forget the cadet programs. Go to a part 61 school and get a degree in something outside of aviation as a backup. You'll end up with a backup option and have the same pilot's license

You'll be a lot better off in the long run.

These guys speak the truth.

Of course an Engineering Degree and career (or Dentistry, Real Estate or perhaps Property Development) will be far more boring but if you do things right you'll be able to afford a plane and pick when you fly instead of flying when told to by minions of Satan himself, somewhere many time zones away from where you started only to find that the hurricane got there sooner than forecast!

Just sayin...