ANG ART vs Airlines

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

tedspal01

I am a full time ANG technician looking into going to the airlines. Just wondered what opinions people had about each path. I just got off AD and am 29 with a little under 2000 military hours.

Thanks

Tespal,
Make a list of what is valuable to you, whether it's time off, money, quality of life, etc. Then compare the airlines (both freight and pax) to what you are doing now in the ANG. Add in known or probable add ons' (marriage, kids). Then extrapolate it out to the point you can retire from one or the other (age 55 to 65). Your answer will probably become obvious.
Biff

There was a thread on the military section here on the "joys" of being an ART.

I'm not military so I can't comment on the ART thing but they didn't paint a very rosy picture of being an ART.

You will need to get more time if you want to apply to the majors. I'd imagine the ART thing pays better than the regionals. If you have a lot of Lear time, you might get into AirNet (or whoever the big Lear night freight operation is...) and get some time built pretty quick. JMO. Good luck. TC

I was an ART for 5 years. The great part about the job is that you are a government employee. Good benefits, but ARTs tend to get roped into working alot of days straight. Inbetween working the 5 days per week, uta, weekend trainers, ja/atts, allocated missions, night trainers, drop zone, and the deployments, time off can get slim.

I left the ART Program for FDX, and have never been happier. There are others who I used to work with that love the ART gig and the security that comes along with it. It all depends on what you want. The airline quality of life is great, but does not have the security of the ART job.