ALPA 's Insurance

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

RJET

My probationary period just ended and ALPA was right on time on deducting their unions fees. My question is what do you guys think on their insurance offers, are they worth getting? ALPA Disability sump $50,000, Loss of License Disiability $1,200, and Life Member for $30,000
I am new to the unions and their benefits. Are these insurances one of those where you pay and pay but when you actually need their benefits is like pulling teeths or "should have read the small print" scenarios.
Thanks

All fine questions, my young apprentice!

If your company offers it's own "Loss of Licence" or "Short/Long-term Disability" then do this...take a look at the premiums and compare them to the ALPA insurance. Notice anything? Sure. The ALPA insurance is MORE! Why is that you ask? Let me explain...

I signed up for the company Short/Long-term Disability and in July I found a temporary condition that prevents me from flying for about six months. No problem. I fill out the claim form and about two weeks later I get a response that says "...although you are unable to perform the duties of a pilot there are no reasons why you cannot obtain gainful employment elsewhere...so go get a job!"

What the insurance company was saying is that although I lost my medical I was not homebound and on a respirator so technically I could work...at something!

Should I have carried the ALPA insurance then they will cut you a check every month if you only lose your medical. So if you cannot fly but you can work at Walmart you get your ALPA disability check and your Walmart check...how sweet it is!