Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

cargoflyr69

V-Dub for Life
I was passing thru LAS a few days back and while sitting at my gate I looked over a few gates to where an Allegiant MD-83 was parked. There was someone up on top of a folding ladder with a long pole probing the top of the wing surfaces... no biggie, looked like a tactile wing inspection for ice. BUT when the person got off the ladder and continued the walk around I looked closer and it was an FO doing their walk-around! Really? Do you guys not have a dedicated de-ice crew? Require your pilots to climb up on ladders? etc... I just kept thinking how that would be a great workers comp claim should they have slipped ;)

Part of required flight crew preflight during certain conditions. Check with AA or DL I suspect it's the same.

I am a pilot on the same type aircraft, flying them for one of the two airlines you mentioned.

We have dedicated De-ice staff. When icing conditions are prevalent the pilot makes a call to ops and the station de-ice staff gives the aircraft an inspection. Contractually there are no required preflight tasks that require "special tools" such as ladders. Not bashing anyone or union thumping... This just struck me as a genuine personal safety thing. We all know ramps with de-ice fluid, gusty winds, jet-blast, etc. is no place to be perched atop a home depot style folding ladder.

I certainly would not want to be the F/O preflighting one of your 757's.... that wing is pretty high up there ;)