• Invite everyone to Flightinfo.com and let's have fun

Allegiant 3Q results in 16.5% operating margin and $13.8 million profit

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web
You're funny when you're all crazy like that.

Since when did JB do anything to middle management?

I totally agree. I'm a JetBlue pilot and I would love to know about this shake up in middle management. I wish we would shake up middle management a little.

JetBlue's CEO chose to give the pilots pay raises and better work rules rather than have a union on property.

Now that I will agree with. Although, he didn't so much choose, essentially he was forced to do it, otherwise, as you said, the Union would have shown up a year later.

When the Pilot Compensation review was done in 2008, the infamous "raises for all seats, just not all seniorities" was the response. Well, that review showed jetblue pilots to be woefully behind our peers in just about all areas, mind you, in too many we still are.

After JBPA filed for representation, not a day went by where we didn't receive some email from jetblue, where they said they would do better and how the unions were evil! So, some people chose to give the Co. yet another chance, hence the vote failed, however, that forced the hand of the Co., had they done nothing, many of those that chose to vote no would probably rapidly switch to seeking representation.

So, as to my original point and my contention with your statement, it wasn't that Barger wanted to, it was that he felt unionization would be a worse alternative.