Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

mudkow60

Hello-

Has anyone flown or rented an Alarus CH2000 or a Fantasy Air Allegro 2000? I looked up rentals in Arizona, and two different flight ops have these. The prices seem good at $95 and $70 an hour wet.

Any inputs?

Thanks.

The Alarus/Zenith/CH2000 is possibly the worst airplane ever built. Noisy, slow, unreliable, Canadian.

-barnyard

Noisy... ok. I am a helo pilot.

Unreliable. That could be bad. In what way is it unreliable?

One thing though.... It is cheap.

Thanks.

Alarus is basically a low wing 152, it's even got the same engine.
It's sloooooow has an all flying rudder a la WW I.....
And it's placarded against intentional slips as supposedly the rudder blanks out the elevator and the nose drops big time.
The VOR antenna's are mounted low and will poke your eye out during pre flight.
What else you need to know?

I used to instruct in these ac and remember they were down quite often because we could not get the parts from Canada... one wierd quirk i remember is one night i was doing instrument training for about 2 hours when the engine began to sputter. The first thing i went for was the mixture control and lo and behold it had crept out almost to cutoff. When i brought it to Mx, they said there was nothing they could do to tighten it anymore, just a piece of junk mixture control.

Also the thing gets real cold thanks to that drafty cockpit and shroud heating. Not that that would be too much of a problem in AZ.

-Barnyard