• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

Hogprint

If you aint Cav...
A tale of treachery...Staring Ken Ricci

Reprinted with permission from the Original poster...

“I can speak to this first hand. I was with Travel Air back in 2002 when we were merged with Flight Options Inc to form Flight Options LLC.

At the time there was a drive to Unionize RTA but time was running out due to the impending merger. Ken Ricci sent us all a signed letter telling us "No one will lose Seat, Position, or Pay through the merger" in an attempt to assure us we did not need a Union.

During this time I was an Assistant Fleet Manager and Check Airmen in the [Redacted] Fleet. In Feb 02 I went to Indoc and it was reiterated by Ricci in person that no one would lose Seat, Position or Pay. At the end of Indoc the Check Airmen had a very what I would call "Hollow" meeting with Chief Pilot [Redacted]. I went home after that for 7 days preparing for the new 8/7 schedule we would be on.

About my third or fourth day off I received a call from [Redacted] {the Chief Pilot}. He was calling to let me know he had my new seat assignment????? Come again??? Yes new seat assignment, he was calling everyone in turn to reassign them. Ok, I said. I was then informed I could continue in the [Redacted] as an FO. Not Check Airman losing Asst Fleet Mgr, not Captain losing both FMGR and CA. No as an FO losing all three.

Well that's loss of two positions FMGR and CA. It was a loss of seat Captain to FO and a loss of pay about 20k/yr for all three. At that time I was around 85k/yr which was good for Fractionals. So I lost all three just a few short days after Ricci himself signed a letter and made a verbal personal garrantee. I was also offered Captain in the Beechjet fleet or Captain in the King Air fleet we had at the time.