Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Friendliest aviation Ccmmunity on the web
  • Modern site for PC's, Phones, Tablets - no 3rd party apps required
  • Ask questions, help others, promote aviation
  • Share the passion for aviation
  • Invite everyone to Flightinfo.com and let's have fun

Paramedic Cert helpful for Air Ambulance flying position?

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

Snakum

How's your marmott?
Strange question ...

I'm finally flying again and hope to have my Multi/Comm/CFI by next Summer. At 40 years old, I still haven't given up on flying for a living, but I know it's going to be a tough road with no promises. As a backup plan, I'm returning to school this Fall for an AS in Emergency Medical Science (I have a degree in engineering technology already) and will have the EMT III/Paramedic license within 18 months. I figure if I never do anything past flight instructing, that I could at least live on CFI pay and EMT pay combined.

So, that got me wondering ... would having the EMT III/Paramedic license help me at all in trying to land an air ambulance pilot gig? I figure it'd give my employer a lot of flexibility, in that he could use me for whichever position he needed for a particular run. I'm not sure how the pay thing would work though, because I know that full EMT III Paramedics make more than the average King Air FO. Would it help?

I've never really wanted to do airline flying, and always thought that 135 charter in King Airs or Citations would fit me best. I've read/heard all the horror stories about scummy 135 operators in the last few years, but I think I could make a decent living and be quite content flying a King Air with the right company.

Just curious ...

Minh