Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

captnmayday

Hi all:

I keep hearing mixed rumors about regionals hiring, but with all the unemployed Airline pilots on the street, even if they hire ... are'nt they obligated to hire those from the main line (i.e North West, Continental, United ...)?

I am an aspiring regional driver currently flying Part 91 ... with over 2500TT and 1000 Multi and lots of patience ... is there a light at the end of the tunnel or is it the train comming?

I keep sending my resume through the internet to Mesaba, Air Wis, ...etc and I all get is a Cyber PFO ... what is the trick guys? just wait till the industry picks up? Count the gray hair until then?

Mucho Gracias

First of all, good luck to you. (Not being sarcastic here). As you know, if you're applying to a carrier who has pilots on furlough (such as Expressjet/CALEX), you won't be hired until after all of the furloughed pilots are recalled. Unfortunately there are many pilots on furlough across the industry and some companies might not be hiring for several years. It's just really competetive out there right now to say the least. Having said that, I think there might me a couple companies that are hiring - have you tried Colgan? I've heard ASA MIGHT be hiring by this fall sometime. In any case, keep hangin' on - things have to get better sometime. I hope.

phantom122 said:
there might me a couple companies that are hiring - have you tried Colgan?

Get out your checkbook, they've gone to pay for training scheme. The cost is almost 1.5 times first year wages. Mesaba has folks on furlough and is not hiring, Air Wisconsin hasn't hired since last fall, and the first of any future hiring will be drawn from those in their pool.