J4J and Mesa?

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

Lonestar

First let me say that I've been a cargo and corporate pilot my entire career so the ins and outs of Regional flying is foreign to me. That being said, I would like to get some answers about what J4J will mean for Mesa. If it is voted in, will Mesa furlough to accomodate the USAir pilots? If it is voted down what is likely to happen? Will Mesa lose their flying and still have to furlough? I have a buddy in their pilot development program and I am concerned about what he will be doing after he graduates. Are there any Mesa pilots here that can answer this?

First I would like to say that according to the yahoo site, Mesa and ALPA are not going to agree to J4J by tonight's US Airways deadline. If this deadline is for real, Mesa is out of any future expansion with US Airways.

That said, to your questions. If somehow ALPA and Mesa find a way to approve J4J, there would only be growth at Mesa. No furlough. They have a deal (only with ALPA approval) for 70 additional jets in the next few years. Unlike the US wholly owned's, who would be replacing props for jets and giving half the seats to furloughed US pilots, Mesa would only be expanding. Half of 70 is 35 times 10 pilots = 350 new Mesa pilots in the next two years or so.