Helping a friend prepare for dispatch school/career

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

Berkut

I have a friend who is interested in becoming a dispatcher. She will probably be attending Sheffield's six-week course sometime next year. She is 23, and has no aviation experience at all. I'm trying to help her prepare, but I'm a pilot/A&P, not a dispatcher, so I would like some suggestions.

I figure anything to do with weather and instrument flight is a safe bet, as well as prep for the knowlege test. How about basics such as flight instruments, engine instruments, nav instruments, the pitot-static system, airport signs, VFR charts, and so on? For example, she should know what a propeller does, but should she know how a prop governor works? Or what a beta tube does? How in-depth should some of this stuff go?

I realize anything I teach her will be beneficial, but I don't want to waste too much time on the less important stuff.

Any ideas?

One more thing.

She doesn't have a degree. Will this put her at a significant disadvantage?

Berkut said:
I have a friend who is interested in becoming a dispatcher. She will probably be attending Sheffield's six-week course sometime next year. She is 23, and has no aviation experience at all. I'm trying to help her prepare, but I'm a pilot/A&P, not a dispatcher, so I would like some suggestions.

I figure anything to do with weather and instrument flight is a safe bet, as well as prep for the knowlege test. How about basics such as flight instruments, engine instruments, nav instruments, the pitot-static system, airport signs, VFR charts, and so on? For example, she should know what a propeller does, but should she know how a prop governor works? Or what a beta tube does? How in-depth should some of this stuff go?