Comair Interview, but I have negatives

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

208starcheck

Got at call from Comair on Wed. for an interview on the 12th of march. I wanted to get excited but they asked me if I've ever failed a checkride. I had to answer yes I failed the commercial and CFI on the first try. John Smith told me I'd have to explain that. My question is..... Will those two failed checkrides end up deep sixing me.

I also have a crappy ATPw score. I had been studing for it on and off for 2 years. I finally got sick of preparing so I gave myself a week to study up and take it. 78% ouch

Any thoughts on those 3 negatives I have against me going into an interview. I've heard opinions from "it's nothing" to "you're screwed". I've been with Airnet for a year and a half with a good record.

Also how many recommendations should I take with me and from who. I don't know anyone at Comair.
Thanks

A failed checkride or two will probably not make that much of a difference. What the interviewer will be looking for is what you learned from the experience. Hint: Don't blame the examiner.
Your login name suggests you work for Airnet. If you've passed all your rides @ Airnet and have no black marks on your record that alone would show that you've learned from past mistakes. Nobody is perfect in this business. Many of us have got pinked at one time or another. I know guys at majors that failed type rides at the regionals. It's all in how you handle the question.

Here's an idea . . .

Any way you can take your ATP ride before your interview? Either single or multiengine? You might have to pay, but it would be tax-deductable and a worthwhile career investment.