Best Combat Flight Sim for the PS2/PC

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

migio

Does anyone know what the best combat flight sim is for the PS2 and for the PC? Ive played Ace Combat 4,which is pretty bad azz,but has anyone played Aero Elite or Lethal Skies II? Ace Combat 5 is coming out later this month and looks pretty cool,as well as Pacific Heroes. I have Janes F-15 for the PC,but its older then dirt.

Thanks

Well, I'm no expert, and even though I used to be way into flight sims and stuff like that, I'd have to say that ANYTHING on PS2 or any game console can't really be called more than an arcade game. You need a keyboard with all the keys to come even close to recreating anything near a decent sim. Lotsa keys to learn, radar modes, weapons, a great big manual to read, etc.

And since my computer is getting old/ancient (3+ years old with no upgrades), I'm pretty limited in all the new games. But I have been hooked on Janes USAF for some time.

game consoles vs pc's

Yeah,i hear ya as far as how PS2 flight sim games are more arcade like then PC flight sim games,but they sure are easier. Maybe the PS3 will have a keyboard and have a ton of memory like modern day PC's do,but untill then,i allways like trying out any kind of combat flight sims,whether they are on game consoles or PC's. Ill have to admit,that the game console games get boring rather quickly,unlike their PC counterparts,when it comes to combat flight sims. One thing i would like to get into would be the online gaming with combat flight sims and get huge dogfights going with real people rather then computer opponents.Anyone dogfight online style? What kinda hookups do you need and whats the cost?

Thanks