Beechjet to TXKF?

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

Mephisto

Does options fly the 400A to Bermuda? I thought I heard one headed that way on the radio the other day. I flew one for a short time earlier in my career....seems like that trip would be right on the edge of the range for that plane...:eek:

Not Likely

Well, if you were to look at the distance alone, it is only 677 nm from KILM to TXKF. This would be well within the range of the beechjet assuming you can carry the fuel of course.

I have no experience operating in RVSM airspace or the HF radio requirements. That having been said, not all of our beechjets are RVSM certified (we are working on that), and none that I know of have HF radios in them. More then likely you heard another type of options aircraft, or it may have been a beechjet running the AR routes.

doesn't matter if there's a wet footprint - we don't fly if there is one.

i originally wanted to make pilots consider what would happen if the guy ahead of you on the approach lands gear-up or something - what are you going to do? ack is your closest alternate at 620nm, or go back towards ilm at 677nm. either way, that's quite a load of extra required fuel.

going to bda (or any island) on min required fuel is pretty stupid. i can remember a couple of west coast to hawaii c750 trips in the winter that i didn't do because i had a wet footprint (huge headwinds) - the pax were upgraded to a giv.

"Poor flight planning" is what They would say. Unless it was a perhaps a lifeguard flight or another special circumstance. But I could be wrong (been wrong before.)

I dont think I would launch to Bermuda unless I could get back to ILM (better than ACK if you ask me..)...