Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

surplus1

[Take a minute and read this morsel of truth. Tells it like it really is!!!!]

From a UAL retiree in response to Ben Stein's recent NYT article..... It applies equally to every current victim of bankruptcy large or small. The only differences is the equipment type).

"G'Day Mr Stein. I'm writing from my study looking out over one of the most beautiful beaches on the east coast of Australia a view and a location that helps me forget the fact that as recently as 2005 I was a pilot with United Airlines. I was reminded again of what I had walked away from when a colleague and long time friend from two air forces (the Royal Australian Air Force and the United States Air Force), one war (Vietnam), and the airline industry (he flew for Northwest, and I for United) forwarded your thoughtful article that used my ex employer as a clear example of the long decline of America's corporate morality.

A couple of decades ago, I decided that after 20 years as a fighter pilot, retiring with some real money in the bank instead of a general's uniform in the closet was the sensible way to achieve the most desirable outcome that my experience could provide, so I joined the biggest airline in the world.

To date, that decision is one of several bad ones I've made during my life, but having recovered from the others, it is the only one I would revisit if I had the chance to do it all again.