Weather Radar Training

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

mike1mc

Anybody know of any websites where one can get some useful info on using weather radar. I know about Archie Tremmel (?) and his course, but I'm looking for something free (of course).

What do you want to know? Seems like you have a good resource right here.

Nothing is free.

Looing for any operational tips (how to use tilt, gain, etc.). I'm new to the whole radar thing (been flying an old Baron), but now I get to see what I'm about to fly into :D Any help is appreciated.

Mike,

The first thing to know about radar is that it won't tell you what you're about to fly into. If properly used, it can tell you about liquid precipitation. It can also be used for terrain information. However, radar does have it's limitations, not the least of which is shadowing due to attentuation...that means that one return can mask another behind it, and what looks clear can really be something else entirely.

Frozen precipitation shows weak returns, and sometimes no returns at all. A t-cell poking hail will show moisture where it's liquid, but the hail may not show up at all, or may have very little reflectivity, and relatively little attenuation.

If you can obtain or view the Trammel course, it's very dry, but worth the time. There's a lot of information you'll never remember, but it's still good to go through.
Several books are available on the subject, too.