Visual Profile

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

JD2003

Hey Guys/Gals...I am new to a jet and have been on the line for about five months now and I have a question for you all.

If you get cleared for a visual (base leg and close in to the marker) and you are high and not fully configured is it best to continue down the visual slope with thrust at idle until you reach final flap retraction speed (slowly) or is it better to raise the nose and lose speed (quickly) to get the final segment of flaps in?

In the first scenario you run the risk of not getting configured by the prescribed altitude (500'AGL for visuals) and in the second scenario you run the risk of getting configured but then being even higher on the slope.

With speed assignments given to us by ATC, it is not always possible to get fully configured early due to limitations so my question is when you are handed a scenario such as this one what is the best/most safe course of action?

Thanks!

There really isn't a right or wrong answer, but I've always thought it to be sloppy technique to pitch up to get slowed down to configure. In the CRJ you can get configured on the slope relatively easily, even if just a few miles from the runway. I'm not sure how the ERJ is, but it can't be that much harder. It really comes down to your comfort level. Since you're new to the plane it might be best to pitch up to slow down quicker. As you gain more experience in the plane you should become more comfortable in configuring while on slope.

I would raise the nose and configure. It will come down a lot quicker with the flaps down and you should have no problem.