Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

EMBpilot

Hello all,

I am an airline pilot (Continental) and I have been thinking a lot about giving something back to my country.
I would like to learn more about Air National Guard and if you don't mind answering a couple of questions I would really appreciate it.

1. What is the age limit? I am 33 is it too late to join?

2. If I join a fighter unit am I guarantied a fighter slot?

3. How long is the full time commitment i.e. how long would I have to be out from my current employment and what is the pay? Since I sort of know how to fly would that cut the training time?

4. Would my employer have to hire me back after the initial full time commitment i.e. call all that time a MLA?

5. Once the full time portion is done what is a life style like - how often do you get to fly and how much time (approx. days/year) on deployments?

Thanks a lot

Last edited:
Hello all,

I am an airline pilot (Continental) and I have been thinking a lot about giving something back to my country.
I would like to learn more about Air National Guard and if you don't mind answering a couple of questions I would really appreciate it.

1. What is the age limit? I am 33 is it too late to join?

2. If I join a fighter unit am I guarantied a fighter slot?

3. How long is the full time commitment i.e. how long would I have to be out from my current employment and what is the pay? Since I sort of know how to fly would that cut the training time?

4. Would my employer have to hire me back after the initial full time commitment i.e. call all that time a MLA?

5. Once the full time portion is done what is a life style like - how often do you get to fly and how much time (approx. days/year) on deployments?

Thanks a lot

1. Its too late