Need Career Advice

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

Flying"C"ranchr

I have been following Fly767's post. I am on the other end of the slide-rule. I am an ERJ FO at Mesa. I was a BE1900D CPT prior to 9/11... 9/11, reserve status and only home 4 nights (8 days off but had to travel home on days off)/bid made me rethink priorities. I only have 500 turbine PIC. Approximately 2600 TT.

I am married and 43 years old. The Mesa duty schedule is grinding me down (10 days off and 5 day trips). During the past year, I have been actively seeking an opportunity to fly for a guard or reserve unit. I am an ex-army helo pilot. The Air Force reserve/Guard was not receptive. I received a positive response from the Army Reserve in my home town. They fly King Airs and Citations. They only required me to reclassify as a warrant officer. I just took the oath of office as a WO1.

I need eight more years with the military to retire. Here's my question. "Should I pursue a full-time reserve/guard position and get the retirement check?" My concern is at my age and when the major airlines start hiring again how much time will I have at the majors? I am just specualting, but I could possibly finish my military service and take another crack at the majors.

I have another question regarding retirement at the majors. How much time do you need to work at a major airline to qualify/receive retirement? Does anybody have a crystal ball or best guess when the hiring will begin again at the majors? My gut tells me 6 to 8 years. Am I way off on this?

Thx for any advice GOOD OR BAD.

My Best,
Ranch'r

Major job?