Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

Archer

student pilot forever
I've discussed my situation on a couple of other threads, but it had mainly to do with me wondering how the life of a corporate pilot was, and asking questions about it.

I'm an Italian student, 3rd year in Aerospace Engineering in Indiana on a student visa.

My two options are to become an engineer or become a pro pilot. I would like to consider the pilot option in this thread.

If I do become a pro pilot, I would like Part 91 or 135 flying of small to medium aircraft. I dislike Part 121 flying, and flying anything bigger than a Citation X. I love small single and twin engined light piston airplanes, light turboprops and I love Lear Jets and similar small jets. That's what I would like to fly in the long term.

My biggest obstacle would be to get authorization to work as a professional pilot in the US, and know there is a large community of professional pilots (though 99% are US citizens or residents) maybe some of you can help in this regard.

I would appreciate any information on visas and green cards, and whether employers hire foreign pilots on H-1B visas for example, and later on sponsor residency.

Assuming that I can work under H-1B visa as a CFI, where could I work as a CFI? I hear FBOs/flight schools with multi engine aircraft are a must, so once you get the MEI you can get multi time.

I still got a year of school, then I'm thinking on investing money that would have gone to a Masters, on flying, on ratings up to CFI/CFII/MEI and buying some multi time perhaps.

Any help or info will be appreciated.

Fly safe

Archer

Cmon Falcon Capt, I've never asked about visas and work permits.

Give me a break

Archer

Give you a break????

No, Give ME a break.