Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

lowtimedriver

Marmott Stalker
I wanted to get your opinions on what happened to me during a solo-flight today. I am a student pilot with about 100 hours of total time. I had a medical condition pop up in July of 2005 when I had about sixty hours of instruction time and was preparing for my stage two check. I finally worked everything out with the FAA and was granted a SI two weeks ago. I flew with my CFI yesterday and soloed again and he signed my off for my ninety day solo endorsement. When I soloed yesterday in the presence of my CFI, I was not nervous, anxious or scared one bit. I flew flawlessly and greased all three of my landings.
I was so stoked to be able to fly solo again and I wanted to get back up ASAP, so I scheduled another solo flight again today. I did my pre-flight as usual, taxied my aircraft to the run-up area, did the run-up and then taxied to the hold bar for R24 at KCRQ. During this whole process, I was not nervous or scared. I planned to go from Palomar to Ramona to do pattern work and work on my short field and soft maneuvers. CRQ ATC cleared me to take-off and I rolled onto 24 and went to full power on the roll. I was totally focused, checked the instruments, RPM's, airspeed alive and rotated at 55 KIAS. Everything is fine and then I get up to about 800' and get ready to turn cross-wind and the thought runs through my head, "what the fock am I doing up here?" I was for a brief moment panic stricken. My muscles went limp for about five seconds and I quickly regained my composure and flew to Ramona. I was a little nervous flying out there, but overall I was fine. I nailed all of my landings at Ramona and departed back to CRQ and made a good soft-field landing in front of a couple of biz-jets waiting to depart.